Subdivision Plat Recording

Under the Utah Code, certain requirements must be completed prior to the county recorder accepting a plat or subdivision plat for recordation and assignment of tax identification numbers. *See* Utah Code Ann. §§ 17-27a-603 (requirements for recordation of a plat), 10-9a-603 (requirements for recordation of a subdivision plat). Starting on January 1, 2022, the Cache County Recorder's Office will not accept any plat submitted for recording that does not contain all the requisite information. In order to facilitate this change, we have attached a checklist containing the requisite items that will be reviewed by our office prior to accepting the plat for recordation. This review will only ensure that the requisite items are present prior to recordation, not for the accuracy or correctness of the requisite items. The accuracy or correctness of the requisite items are the sole responsibility of the applicant submitting the plat for recordation.

This review process can be quite lengthy; therefore, applicants of a subdivision or dedication final plat should make an appointment with the Cache County Recorder's Office. This appointment should allow for up to an hour of time for the review process. Appointments can be made by: (1) sending an email to mapping.recorder@cachecounty.org; or (2) calling the Cache County's Recorder Office at 435-755-1530. Prior to attending the appointment, the applicant may email a digital copy of the plat to the above stated email address. This would allow for a timelier review during the appointment, when the applicant should bring the mylar plat.

Please be advised that the fees associated with the recording of a plat are set by the Utah State Code. See Utah Code Ann. § 17-21-18.5. Until all fees have been paid or have been authorized to be paid electronically, the Cache County Recorder's Office will not record any plat. See Utah Code Ann. § 17-21-18. The recording fees will be charged to the record title owner of the property which is the subject of the subdivision or final local entity plat unless that individual or entity is listed in Utah Code Ann. § 63J-1-505(2)(a).

The fees for recordation of any plat are:

- \$50.00 per sheet; and
- \$2.00 for each lot or unit designation (any parcel that is not a road).

If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to a member of our team here at the Cache County Recorder's Office.

Subdivision and Dedication Final Plat Recorder Review



Date Received:	
Drafter:	
Reviewer:	
Approved by Reviewer:	

The following checklist has been prepared by the Cache County Recorder's Office to show what items are required by the Utah State Code, and must be present prior to the Cache County Recorder's office accepting a plat for recordation. This review will only ensure that the requisite items are present prior to recordation, not for the accuracy or correctness of the requisite items. The accuracy or correctness of the requisite items are the sole responsibility of the applicant submitting the plat for recordation.

Applicants submitting a subdivision or dedication final plat should make an appointment with the Cache County Recorder's Office. This review process can be quite lengthy, and should allow for up to an hour of time. Appointments can be made by emailing mapping.recorder@cachecounty.org or calling 435-755-1530. Prior to attending the appointment, the Applicant may email a digital copy of the plat to the above stated email address. This would allow for a timelier review during the appointment.

The fees associated with the recordation of a plat are set by the Utah State Code. See Utah Code Ann. § 17-21-18.5. Until all fees have been paid or have been authorized to be paid electronically, the Cache County Recorder's Office will not record any plat. See Utah Code Ann. § 17-21-18. The recording fees will be charged to the record title owner of the property which is the subject of the subdivision or final local entity plat unless that individual or entity is listed in Utah Code Ann. § 63J-1-505(2)(a). The fees for recordation are: (1) \$50.00 per sheet; and (2) \$2.00 for each lot or unit designation (any parcel that is not a road).

Subdivision and Dedication Final Plat Recorder Review

Required for Recording								
	Drafter		Reviewer	Comments				
The municipality/county has approved and signed the plat. It is typically shown as a "City/County Approval" signature block on the plat.	Yes		Approved					
	No		П					
	NA							
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(6)(a)(i), 17-27a-603(6)(a)(i).								
Each owner of record of land described on the plat must sign the Owner's Dedication as shown on the plat. The subdivision boundary cannot incorporate record title	Yes		Approved					
	No		П					
	NA							
land owned by anyone other than those who execute the plat.								
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(6)(a)(ii), 17-27a-603(6)(a)(ii).								
Each instrument presented to the County Recorder for recording shall have typed or printed on it the name of each person whose signature appears on the instrument whose name is required to be indexed. The person's name shall appear just beneath that person's signature.	Yes		Approved					
	No							
	NA							
Utah Code Ann. § 17-21-25(1)(a)(b).								

Subdivision and Dedication Final Plat Recorder Review

The signature of each owner is	Yes		Approved			
acknowledged by law. Appropriate acknowledgements need to be provided for	No					
each type of signer, e.g. individuals,	NA					
trustees, authorized members, etc.						
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(6)(a)(iii), 17-27a-603(6)(a)(iii).						
The plat must contain a legible notarial seal, or the following information: (a) the	Yes					
notary signs the certificate in permanent	No					
ink; (b) the notary's name and commission number appears next to the signature; (c)	NA					
the title "A notary public commissioned in Utah," appears next to the signature; and						
(d) the expiration date of the notary's						
commission is listed.						
Utah Code Ann. § 46-1-16(7).	.,					
A person may not submit a subdivision plat to the county recorder's office for recording	Yes					
unless the plat has been approved by the	No					
land use authority of the: Municipality, County, or mountainous planning district.	NA					
All approvals must be entered in writing om the plat by the designated officers in the						
"City/County Planning Commission"						
signature block on the plat.						
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-604(1)(b) – (c), 17-27a-604(1)(b) – (c).						
If the individual or entity submitting plat	Yes		Approved			
intends it to part of a community association, the plat must include language	No					
conveying to the association all common areas in the Owners Dedication.	NA					
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-604(1)(d), 17- 27a-604(1)(d), 57-8a-102.						
Required for Processing	Drofts		Daviewer	Comments		
A subdivision name must be distinct from	Drafte		Reviewer	Comments		
A subdivision name must be distinct from any subdivision name on a plat recorded in	Yes		Approved			
the county recorder's office. The name of all subdivisions of record can be checked	No NA					
at any time by emailing	INA					
mapping.recorder@cachecounty.org or calling the county recorder's office at 435-						
755-1530.						
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(2)(a), 17- 27a-603(2)(a).						
The boundaries, course, and dimensions of	Yes		Approved			
all of the parcels of ground must be present.	No					
Utah Code Ann. §§10-9a-603(2)(b), 17-	NA	\sqcup				

Subdivision and Dedication Final Plat Recorder Review

Each document that is submitted for recording to a county recorder's office must	Yes		Approved	
contain the legal description of the	No			
property, as a "Subdivision Boundary	NA		_	
Description.				
Utah Code Ann. §17-21-20(2)(d).				
All parcels of ground must be named,	Yes		Approved	
designated, or otherwise labeled in some manner.	No			
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(2)(b), 17-	NA			
27a-603(2)(b).				
The lot or unit numbers must be unique to	Yes		Approved	
the subdivision name, and should be sequentially consecutive through all	No			
phases or subsequent amendments of the	NA			
subdivision.				
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(2)(c), 17- 27a-603(2)(c).				
The block or building reference for all	Yes		Approved	
parcels, units, or lots must be present.	No			
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(2)(c), 17- 27a-603(2)(c).	NA			
Site addresses, street addresses, and	Yes		Approved	
street names are assigned and/or approved by the municipality/county.	No			
	NA			
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(2)(c), 17- 27a-603(2)(c).				
Acreage or square footage must be labeled for all parcels, units, or lots.	Yes		Approved	
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(2)(c), 17-	No			
27a-603(2)(c).	NA			
The county cannot process a subdivision of	Yes		Approved	
a parcel in which there are taxes, interests, and penalties owing. There must be a tax	No			
clearance indicating everything has been	NA			
paid.				
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(4), 17-27a-603(4).				
The surveyor making the plat shall certify	Yes		Approved	
that the surveyor: (i) holds a license in	No	П		
accordance with state law; (ii) has completed a survey of the property	NA			
described on the plat in accordance with	'''	ш		
state law and has verified all				
measurements; and (iii) has placed monuments as represented on the plat.				
Utah Code Ann. §§ 10-9a-603(6)(b), 17- 27a-603(6)(b).				